Awards & Distinctions

Renowned for innovation and expertise, Dr. Jean Carruthers is the recipient of countless prestigious awards and distinctions, most notably receiving the Leadership and Innovation Award from the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) in 2014 and the highly prestigious Samuel J. Stegman Award for Distinguished Service by the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) in 2016 for her work as a pioneer in the cosmetic use of botulinum toxin.

Awards for Teaching

  • 1971 — Canadian Federation of Medical Women Prize in Medicine
  • 1980 — UBC Dept Ophthalmology Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • 1992 — Nominated for YWCA Woman of the Year Award
  • 1992 — First Woman President of BC Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
  • 1994 — First Woman Examiner in Ophthalmology for the Royal Colleges
  • 1998 — Invited Guest Lecturer, Canadian Women In Ophthalmology Meeting, Calgary, AB

Awards for Scholarship

  • 1975 — First Place, Ophthalmology Fellowship of The Royal College of Surgeons of UK
  • 1977 — Medical Research Council Fellowship in Ocular Genetics
  • 1978/79 —  EA Baker Award for the Prevention of Blindness
  1. 1995-1996 — Honour Award, Service to the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus.
  2. 1996 — Editorial Interview, Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology, Ed Michael Myles MD
  3. 1996 — Award, Canadian National Institute for the Blind
  4. 1997 — Award, Editorial Board of the Journal of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus
  5. 1999 — Award, American Society for Dermatologic Surgery
  6. 2000 — WP Coleman III, “A Visit to the Office of Jean Carruthers”, Dermatologic Surgery
  7. 2001 — Invited Member, Women in Dermatology Society
  8. 2003-2004 — Voted best Cosmetic Surgeon – Best Of Vancouver Readers Choice, Georgia Straight
  9. 2003 — Best Doctors in Canada
  10. 2003 — First Honorary Member of the Association of Surgical Faculty, American Academy of Dermatology
  11. 2003 — Guest Speaker, Women of Influence Luncheon, Vancouver, BC
  12. 2005 — Award, American Academy of Cosmetic Surgery for Co-Chairing the Foundation Vision of Tomorrow Challenge Capital Campaign for 2004-5; Goal $2 Million USD. Achieved: $3.2 Million USD.
  13. 2005 — Invited Principal Lecturer, Gift of Wisdom Lecture Series, Arcadian Court, Toronto
  14. 2005 — Invited Honorary Associate Membership, American Dermatological Association, Georgia
  15. 2005 — Kligman Lifetime Achievement Award, American Society for Cosmetic Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Shared with Dr. Alastair Carruthers)
  16. 2006 — Lifetime Achievement Award for co-founding cosmetic Botox. Advances in Cosmetic and Medical Dermatology Annual Meeting, Hawaii.
  17. 2006 — First invited non-dermatological honorary affiliate member of the ASDS
  18. 2008 — Given “O” VISA by the US TSA for travel to the USA as a person of “exceptional scientific merit”
  19. 2010 — Honorary Membership, American Academy of Dermatology, presented by David Pariser MD, President of the AAD
  20. 2011 — Award, Eugene van Scott Award and Philip Frost Leadership Award. Highest honour given by AAD in recognition of innovation and leadership. (Shared with Dr. Alastair Carruthers)
  21. 2011 — Appointed Associate Editor, Dermatologic Surgery. First Non Dermatologist to be invited. Appointed to spearhead the International aspirations of the Journal ad also to oversee the ophthalmic, neurotoxin and soft tissue augmentation review processes for the Journal
  22. 2011 — Appointed Co-Chair Development and Industry Relations Work Group by Dr. Susan Weinkle, President of ASDS
  23. 2012 — Appointed Chair of Development and Industry Relations Workgroup for ASDS
  24. 2012 — Invited Named Lecture, the Webster Lecture, AACS Annual Meeting, Las Vegas, NV
  25. 2012 — Award, the Eugene Van Scott and Philip Frost Leadership Award (Shared with Dr. Alastair Carruthers)
  26. 2012 — Invited to be a Mentor in the ASDS Future Leaders Network
  27. 2012 — Award, Presidential Citation by Dr Susan Weinkle, President of AADS, Atlanta, GA
  28. 2013 — Award, Henry I Baylis Cosmetic Surgery Lecture and Award by the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  29. 2014 — Coedited Dermatologic Special Issue on Skin Tightening; raised $50,000 for issue (with Dr. Sabrina Fabi)
  30. 2014 — Award, Presidential Award for Service, ASDS
  31. 2014 — Award, Leadership and Innovation Lecture, ASDS (with Dr. Alastair Carruthers)
  32. 2015 — Honorary Member, ASDS International Travelling Mentorship Program (ITMP)
  33. 2015 — Award, Presidential Award for service by the ASDS (shared with Dr. Alastair Carruthers)
  34. 2016 — Coedited Special Issue of Dermatologic Surgery on Combination Therapies (with Dr Sabrina Fabi)
  35. 2016 — Award, Richard Fitzpatrick Memorial Lectureship. Masters of Aesthetics Meeting, San Diego, CA
  36. 2016 — Award, Samuel J Stegman Award for Distinguished Service at ASDS, New Orleans, LA
  37. 2017 — Awarded the honour of giving the first Stuart Maddin Memorial Lecture (with Dr. Alistair Carruthers)
  38. 2018 — Invited Lecturer, ASDS International Travelling Mentorship Program, ASDS Annual Meeting in Phoenix, AZ (with Dr. Alastair Carruthers)
  39. 2019 — Nominated for the Trailblazer Award by the Royal Bank Of Canada Women of Influence Awards